Bangor Forest

Standard

bgr_forest1The Bangor Forest is a really neat 650 acre parcel of land located right here in my own backyard. A short drive gets us here to enjoy the many paths and trails that intertwine all across what is still a vibrant working forest. We try to get out here as often as we can, and today was a perfect day to explore the area and admire the changing fall foliage.

We headed left out of the main parking lot, and eventually ended up on the Deer Trail, a pretty, winding pathway that meandered through the forest. Even though the foliage in the greater Bangor area is probably right about peak color this weekend, the leaves within much of the forest had already turned. Much of the forest landscape is swampy and low lying, and most of the brighter colors look to already have been and gone.

I carried my camera with me knowing that I might not get to see much in the way of bright, fall colors, but I did hope to come across some scenes where I could include movement in the composition. This technique involves opening the shutter for a longer period of time and dragging the camera across or through the scene. Depending on the light, the shapes, the colors and the elements… sometimes an image of interest can be captured.

I like how this type of scene can be created by anyone, and also how it can be created just about anywhere. The remaining fall color certainly added to these two images, and they are a reminder of what was an enjoyable fall family walk together… though as I write this it is snowing here in the mid-Maine area… way too early to be thinking about winter!

Technical data: both images were shot at f16 at iso 100 with 17-40mm Canon L lens and a shutter speed of 4/10ths of a second. The camera was panned in a vertical direction each time to try to accentuate the lines and shapes of the trees.

bgr_forest3

6 thoughts on “Bangor Forest

  1. drewfulton

    I really like these images and love the feel of the color almost floating up around the trees. It reminds me of either backlit fog or fire. Beautiful work.

  2. David Patterson

    Drew… thanks for the comment. I have to admit I am somewhat fascinated by this effect. Ever since seeing William Neill’s work in his series “Impressions of Light” – I have been intrigued by how a scene can be represented with the camera this way.

  3. Excellent images and beautiful color. I was doing a lot of these blur images over the weekend at a Tony sweet workshop I attended in Cuyahoga Valley National Park (OH). I am really digging them!

    • David Patterson

      Thanks Ed. I have been enjoying the images you made at the workshop. Most of mine involve moving the camera up and down… care to share your technique?

  4. I really enjoy these types of shots, no matter where they are done. Perhaps that is also part of their appeal – they represent woodlands that so many of have closeby. I particularly like the second one for its stronger shapes and lines.

    • David Patterson

      Mark… thanks for the kind words. Part of what draws me to this type of image is indeed the fact that this could be anywhere… by anyone.

I'd love to hear from you...

