Maine Foliage

Standard

My guess is that 90% of the photographs I make are with a wide angle lens. When I visit a scene my first thought is usually to try to include as much as I can to give a true sense of everything that I see. I love the flexibility offered by my trusty 17-40mm f4 Canon L lens, and the colors, clarity and sharpness are all exceptional. While I enjoy and am often pleased with wider images, I sometimes have to pinch myself to remember to look closer at the details around me.

Fall foliage season in Maine is a time when there is ample opportunity to try to capture the beauty of the changing colors… often in a detailed and more intimate way. Maine is a beautiful state, one with a variety of landscapes that shine regardless of which of the three seasons you are in. We have an amazing summer, the most gorgeous fall, and usually a very long winter… those are our three seasons. Unless you count mud season, Spring doesn’t really seem to happen around here.

On a recent trip to Baxter State Park to shoot the fall foliage, I once again got good use out of my wide angle lens, but on this trip I did remember to pull out a longer lens and pay attention to some of the more detailed beauty that surrounded me.

The image below was shot with my 70-200mm f4 Canon L lens at a focal length of 180mm, and I really like how the backlit leaves are so vibrant and alive with the Penobscot River in the background. I had to be patient and wait for the wind to die down to minimize the movement in the leaves, and I also had to be very careful while hand holding the camera and lens to remain steady enough to render a sharp image at this shutter speed.

Technical data: f6.3, iso 100, 1/100th of a second at 180mm

katahdin4

8 thoughts on “Maine Foliage

    • David Patterson

      Thanks for the kind words. Many of the leaves this year appear to be covered with some kind of blight… black dots all over them almost like they are rotting while still on the branch. I was pleased to see this little grouping that was maintaining some nice color.

  1. In your part of the country, you have far more vivid fall colors than we do in North Texas. We had enough rain this summer that it caused the same problem on all our rose bushes.

    • David Patterson

      We had the wettest start to the summer in years around here. Must have rained steady for six weeks or so from late May through June. Am guessing that must have contributed to the blight on the leaves that can be seen on closer inspection, though the colors from afar are still quite something!

  2. Karen

    I met your in laws at Acadia yesterday. They told me of your blog.(My husband has The Digital Picture.com.) They were lovely people.:) We were on our way home to PA. But the rough surf was calling my husband; we stayed a few more hours so he could photograph the waves.

  3. Beautiful, vibrant colors captured very nicely, David. I think since I started off more as a bird photographer, I tended to migrate more toward the longer lenses. But of late, I am finding that I am using my 24-70 a whole lot more. My 10-20 is still way underutilized though.

    • David Patterson

      Ed… while we all tend to develop our own “style” that includes choice of equipment, it is always good to try to see things a little differently every now and again.

I'd love to hear from you...

