Mariposa Grove

Standard

On our last morning in Yosemite we made the short drive downhill through Wawona to the famed Mariposa Grove of giant Sequoia trees. With the tallest of the trees in the Mariposa Grove standing at 290 feet, it is virtually impossible to convey with a camera how massive and magnificent these giants are, and once again we were blown away by the scale and beauty of this part of the world.

A balmy 58 degrees on arrival, we decided to forego the open-top tour bus, and instead wander on foot through the trails so that we could get more of a sense of the place. The two mile hike through the lower part of the grove brought us close enough to touch some of the oldest and largest Sequoia trees alive. Compared to the valley floor in Yosemite, the Mariposa Grove was relatively free from crowds, and we enjoyed being among the peace and quiet of these giants. It is estimated that the Grizzly Giant, one of the oldest trees in the Mariposa Grove, is more than 1,800 years old. Along the trail we came across a Mule Deer foraging around the base of a tree for some food, and he obligingly posed for a few photographs as we enjoyed his company.

mariposa3

mariposa5

mariposa9

mariposa2

4 thoughts on “Mariposa Grove

  1. I just want to leave a blanket note to tell you how much I have enjoyed and am continuing to enjoy your travel photographs. Your Yosemite series is superb and your San Fran series starting above looks like it also will not disappoint.

    I wish I knew several tears back what I know now about photography. Then I might have been much happier with my Yosemite images. Oh well, another reason to return.

    You will appreciate this. For the past two years, I have tried to plan a return trip to California and both times, while sitting on the porch in Bar Harbor, my wife has talked me into pushing California back another year and returning to Eden. We just can’t break the Bar Harbor/Acadia grip. That and the fact that my wife hates to fly!

    • David Patterson

      Ed… thanks for the kind words. I know I am biased, but I totally understand your wife’s attraction to Acadia. Having said that, the brief glimpse of California that we we able to get on this trip did nothing but make us want to go back again… for longer next time. It truly is a wonderful state, one that is filled with beauty and grandeur unlike many others. Hopefully one day you will get back there.

I'd love to hear from you...

