Devenish Island, Ireland

Standard

The weather in Maine this week has been far from suitable for photography. I had been looking forward to getting out with my camera this weekend, but a steady diet of rain, clouds and miserable light has stifled that ambition. Looks like it will be another couple of days before the skies even begin to clear up a little, so in the meantime I decided to post a couple of old favorites from a trip to Ireland a couple of years back.

This location is on the shores of Lough Erne just outside Enniskillen in County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland. After graduating from college, I spent two wonderful years teaching in Enniskillen, though during my time there I unfortunately did not take full advantage of the scenery around me.

Any time I return home to Ireland though, I try to rectify this by exploring what is an amazingly beautiful landscape. Across the water in the first image below lies the island of Devenish, home to the ruins of a monastic settlement that dates back to the 6th century. Over the centuries since, many cultures have visited and touched this island, leaving behind evidence of what were, over time, often thriving and vital communities.

I liked the foreground interest that the boat provided in the first photograph, and the second image is from on the island itself, and shows the remains of a round tower that dates back to the 12th century.

devenish3devenish10

2 thoughts on “Devenish Island, Ireland

  1. Bob

    Great shot of an incredible historic site. Reminds me of the defensive fort at Cashel. What an experience–just to roam around a land steeped in the physical remains of the past. Simply drive down any little by-way, and off in the distance….

    • David Patterson

      Bob… thanks for the comment. It is indeed a wonderful place… lots to see and do, and so rich in history and culture.

I'd love to hear from you...

