Jordan Pond

Standard

After leaving the coast and Otter Point, I headed inland toward one of the most pristine bodies of water in Maine, Jordan Pond. I have never really been satisfied with any of the photographs I have made there on previous occasions, so on this glorious morning I was determined to try to be more creative and open to new ideas.

From Wikipedia… Jordan Pond is an oligotrophic tarn in Acadia National Park near the town of Bar Harbor, Maine. An ecosystem or environment is said to be oligotrophic if it offers little to sustain life. The term is commonly utilised to describe bodies of water or soils with very low nutrient levels. It covers 187 acres, with a maximum depth of 150 feet and a shoreline of 3.6 miles. The pond was formed by the Wisconsin Ice Sheet during the last glacial period, some 12,500 years ago. It is flanked on the west by Penobscot Mountain and to the northeast by the two mountains known as the Bubbles. The southern end, and outflow, are limited by the natural Jordan Pond moraine, which has been supplemented by a small dam. The pond has clear water, with visibility normally 46 feet and occasions of up to 60 feet recorded, the deepest in Maine.

jordan_pond4

When I arrived here at about 7:00am, the sun was just reaching over the nearby mountainside, and the water was very clear and very still. With a circular polarizer I was able to reduce the glare off the surface and display just how clear the water was. Next I wandered down to the south end of the lake and started to explore some of the many compositional possibilities there. I stumbled upon this old weathered tree limb, and set to work trying to include it in a pleasing composition. The rock in the bottom right corner bugs me, but without getting my feet totally wet I had to include it. I especially liked the reflection of the sky and the Bubbles in this one.

jordan_pond2

My final photograph from this location was from even further south along the lake shore and up the hill toward the Jordan Pond House. I remembered seeing a really pretty photograph from this spot where the photographer had placed his or her camera up on the hill above the lake with a red swath of blueberry leaves making for a gorgeous foreground. At this time of year the ground cover was not yet red as it is in the fall, and to be honest it was quite chaotic with a wide variety of fresh and thriving spring plants and grasses scattered everywhere. The challenge was to simplify and create a decent composition… imagine how incredible this would look in the fall? Maybe I will have to make a return trip : )

jordan_pond

4 thoughts on “Jordan Pond

  1. Argy

    After catching up and reading your posts and looking at the many outstanding shots I must say the Jordan Pond ones are my favorite. It is easy to imagine being there. Something magical draws me into the photos. Great job! I think you really captured the moments.

    • davidpatterson4

      Thanks Argy… I really wasn’t expecting to capture anything worthwhile when I stopped by here. I had a successful morning over at Otter Point, and this stop was just to fill some time. I was VERY pleasantly surprised and happy with the images I got from Jordan Pond… definitely a bonus.

I'd love to hear from you...

