Finally… I made a photograph!

Standard

It has been a long, long time since I have taken a landscape photograph. Recently I have been using a point and shoot for the convenience that it offers, and I haven’t really taken the time to make any images other than shooting the family etc. With my trip out West coming up shortly, I figured that I had better get back into the swing of things.

There is still a ton of snow on the ground around here, but with the sun shining and temperature rising into the mid 40’s, I brought my camera with me as we went for a walk through the Bangor Forest this morning.

Unfortunately the terrain was pretty scrubby, with dirty snow and broken branches all over the place. I didn’t see much in the way of potential traditional landscape scenes, and so I decided to try something different.

I have long admired the impressionistic images created by William Neill. He has been known to use a technique where he moves the camera while the shutter is open, resulting in what are some absolutely stunning artistic creations. William Neill has venues such as Yosemite, Sequoia and Death Valley to work with… this morning I had the Bangor Forest!

I was thrilled to see right on the LCD as I tripped the shutter that this experiment seemed to be working. With the shutter left open for around half a second, I explored moving the camera either up or down across the scene. With minimal post-processing, the results can be seen below. All shot with a Canon 20D and 17-40mm lens, I am interested in thoughts and opinions…

blur1

Bangor Forest

I'd love to hear from you...

