The Plan…

Standard

mesquite_dunes1I was recently invited to attend and present at a conference in Los Angeles, California at the end of March. Though excited about the conference, I immediately started wondering if I could spin this trip into a brief photo safari? Once I had determined that yes, in fact I could add a couple of days to the trip, the only thing left to decide was where I was going to go.

I love to visit beautiful places and try to make photographs of what I see there. Getting up early to catch the morning light usually means that there are few, if any, other people around. Enjoying the start of a day in a peaceful and tranquil setting is a moment to be treasured, and if I am able to come away with a photograph that does justice to the scene I witnessed, then that is a bonus.

When it comes to landscape photography, I am fortunate to live in a state as beautiful as Maine is. Right in my own back yard there is some of the most striking scenery any photographer could imagine. We have majestic mountains to the north and west, strong and powerful rivers throughout the state, and a rugged and scenic coastline that stretches for miles.

While I love the wonderful landscapes of Maine, I am also drawn to explore other parts of the world. Places that are different, special and unique… and Death Valley can certainly be considered one of the most impressive areas on this planet. The image in this first blog post was made back in the summer of 2007 on the Mesquite Dunes near Stovepipe Wells… the temperatures that week were running in the low 120’s! Looking at the average temps for when I am going to be in Death Valley in late March, it should be a very comfortable 80 degrees or so, and I am very excited about being able to make what I hope will be some cool photographs from this trip.

Check back again soon and I will begin to detail my preparations for what should be an amazing trip.

6 thoughts on “The Plan…

  1. Argy

    It appears that your last photography/educational opportunity trip was partially as wonderful as it was because Steve joined you. Will you be taking a traveling buddy this time? How much do you think your photography/art work is influenced by the feedback you get from critics? How much did you share as you went on your journey and how much do you keep to yourself until you begin displaying them?

    I never thought of a photo trip as a safari!

  2. davidpatterson4

    Nice to hear from you Argy… thanks for stopping by.

    Yes, my experience on the last trip was definitely influenced in a very positive manner by having a traveling companion. Steve is quite adventurous by nature, and his attitude toward exploring new places was one of the reasons I enjoyed that trip so much. On this next trip in March I am heading out on my own… am a little nervous about that, but at the same time I am excited about the challenge.

    I rarely actually show much of my photography to others. Like most people though, I do enjoy feedback, especially when an image resonates with someone. At that point I usually end up re-living the time I spent at a particular location, and that is one of the most important driving forces for my involvement with photography… being in special places and enjoying the environment. Trying to represent a truly beautiful scene with a camera can be quite challenging yet memorable.

    When on a trip like this there usually isn’t much time to share as you go. The quest to be in the right place with the right light usually means an early start, and a late finish to each day. Sometimes the time in between is spent traveling between locations or checking out and planning compositions. I am hoping on this trip to be able to document some of the places I get to see… not just with images, but in words as well. Hence this blog 🙂

  3. Argy

    So, I think it would be valuable for you to post as you go for two reasons:
    one for sharing your incredible experience and one for acquiring feedback on your photos!
    What do you think?

  4. davidpatterson4

    Absolutely agree with you about the value of critique. Whether it is from oneself or others, feedback can be an incredibly valuable tool for growth. I am also quite excited to be able to share my experience with others, so I am indeed planning on posting as I go… as long as I have Internet connectivity!

  5. Argy

    Well, I look forward to seeing where you are, reading about your travels and responding. But, I can tell you already that the seeing is the best part for me. It only takes a few words to understand how you’re feeling and what you’re thinking at the place. But the image is what communicates volumes!

  6. davidpatterson4

    You have inspired me! As you can see I have created individual gallery pages for each of the places I intend to visit on this trip, and I will do my best to share the images I capture as I go along.

I'd love to hear from you...

