I’m still here…

Standard

4:54pm, 1/15/10 Canon 20D, 17-40mm f4 @ 19mm, iso 100, f18, 0.6secs.

… though I haven’t been posting much on the blog lately. As usually happens this time of year, my camera sits quietly in the bag and doesn’t get much of a workout. Back to school related work commitments and coaching high school soccer both conspire to somewhat limit my opportunity to spend time making landscape photographs. I miss everything about the landscape photography process, and I think the last time I was up before dawn and standing in a pretty place with my camera in hand was way back in the middle of the summer. So as the the weather gets cooler and the fall foliage season approaches, I am looking forward to getting back out into the field.

In the meantime, as I was searching through an old hard drive for some work files, I stumbled across a folder of images from a past cold January afternoon spent at one of my favorite lighthouses. These photographs were made with my trusty old Canon 20D, and although the leading lines in the foreground are distinctive, I am determined to get back here to Pemaquid with the full-frame Canon 5D Mark II so that I can really accentuate the wide angle effect. The first photograph in this post was obviously made earlier in the evening when there was still some nice light, and the one below is the very last frame from this particular day, a long exposure of 531 seconds made at 5:54pm… well after the winter sun had set.

5:54pm, 1/15/10 Canon 20D, 17-40mm f4 @ 17mm, iso 100, f22, 531 secs.