Secrets revealed

Standard

As the sun got lower in the sky, I wandered down onto the rocky beach below our rental cottage where low tide had revealed all sorts of interesting shapes and textures.  The ocean was calm and quiet tonight, softly lapping the shore with a rhythmic and gentle beat, and in amongst the periwinkle and barnacle covered-rocks scattered along the shoreline, I found little pockets of color which were being illuminated by the soft, late light.

As the sun slowly dipped below the horizon, I had a grand time using my camera to try to both isolate and connect various elements of the landscape – all the while remembering to soak in the surroundings and smell the clean, fresh sea air. Just around the furthest corner in the last photograph is the famous Bass Harbor Lighthouse… perhaps I should pay it another visit when the light is good?