The Dark Hedges, Ireland

Standard

Perhaps it is the changeable yet familiar weather this time of year, or maybe its all of the rain we’ve been getting lately here in Maine, but once again I find myself thinking about home… Ireland.

It has been several years since I was last there, and every time I visit I always vow not make it so long before I return. Time and life stuff pass so fast though, and in the blink of an eye four more years have quickly gone by and I am left shaking my head and wondering when I am going to make it back over there again.

The image above is of a unique stretch of the Bregagh Road near Armoy, County Antrim┬áthat has been re-named locally as The Dark Hedges. As you can see, over the past 300 years or so the Beech trees guarding the lane┬áhave reached up and across to each other, becoming heavily intertwined to create a remarkable sight – one that I would love to return to with camera in hand when the light was more appealing.

Perhaps it is time to check out the flights on Aer Lingus…

* added a couple more images, this time looking back in the other direction. I have also written a blog post on how to find the Dark Hedges.

** it would appear that a bright, shiny, new fence has been installed inside the tree line altering the original view.

If interested in purchasing prints from this location, visit my online gallery at: http://www.acadiaandbeyond.com